All Stories

Nigeria in Detail Opinion Politics

Youth Power: The Zikist Movement (Part 1)

April 19, 2022

Since Nigeria gained independence from the British in 1960, leading figures like Nnamdi Azikiwe, Obafemi Awolowo, and Ahmadu Bello amongst others have been celebrated as freedom fighters and dominated the Nigerian mainstream history. However, there are various unsung heroes of Nigeria’s independence – the youths. There have been opinions that the Nigerian youth were nowhere … Continue reading Youth Power: The Zikist Movement (Part 1)

Post Image

BUSINESS Opinion

Opinion: 5 Habits Of Highly Successful Nigerian Billionaires You Should Emulate In 2022

April 19, 2022

  The journey of becoming a successful businessperson in Nigeria is way too different from other climes. Nigeria is a peculiar terrain and it requires peculiar strategies if you are going to stay afloat in the business world of Nigeria. The truth is, running a business in Nigeria is three times difficult compared to Europe … Continue reading Opinion: 5 Habits Of Highly Successful Nigerian Billionaires You Should Emulate In 2022

Post Image

Opinion Politics

The Questionable Nomination Of Abdulrasheed Bawa As EFCC Chairman

April 19, 2022

Abdulrasheed Bawa was handpicked to be the next chairman of the EFCC in a rather eventful week in national politics. Many have raised eyebrows for a number of reasons. Prominent amongst them is his age; the man is only forty-as he is pretty young for a Nigerian….. anything for that matter. Read more about politics … Continue reading The Questionable Nomination Of Abdulrasheed Bawa As EFCC Chairman

Post Image

Opinion

My Quick Eleven Suggestions for Succeeding Beyond the Pandemic

April 19, 2022

As Nigeria commemorates her diamond jubilee anniversary of its independence, this year’s celebration should be a little bit different from the previous ones. Instead of the commemoration being a cause for celebration, it should be a period for a re-evaluation of strategies for success beyond the pandemic. With the Nation experiencing the ‘heptilema (seven and … Continue reading My Quick Eleven Suggestions for Succeeding Beyond the Pandemic

Post Image

Opinion Politics Religion

Why Religion is an Opiate of the People

April 19, 2022

“Religion is the sigh of the oppressed creature, the heart of a heartless world, and the soul of the soulless conditions. It is the opium of the people.” –Karl Marx (1844) In the space of just one week, there were reports on social media of about four attempted and successful suicide cases in Nigeria. The … Continue reading Why Religion is an Opiate of the People

Post Image

Opinion

Opinion: A Nation of False Outrage

April 19, 2022

On the morning of 16th February 2019 – a day that had been slated for the general elections to hold by INEC for almost four years – Nigerians woke up to the news that the elections had been postponed due to, although not clearly stated in the letter released by INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, … Continue reading Opinion: A Nation of False Outrage

By ibiene

Post Image

Nigeria Opinion Politics

2019 General Elections: Why Every Nigerian Needs A Permanent Voters Card (PVC)

April 19, 2022

“With technology, the elections have been made easy. That is why I keep appealing to the Governors to embark on Voters education, to please tell the people that their Permanent Voters Card is their national card so to speak. Let them vote for anybody they want across ethnicity and religion… I think that is why … Continue reading 2019 General Elections: Why Every Nigerian Needs A Permanent Voters Card (PVC)

By henry

Post Image

Opinion

Opinion: Why You Should Leave Dino Alone

April 19, 2022

This week, Senator Dino Melaye woefully complained about police protection being withdrawn from him (a “VIP”) because he is under investigation for the alleged possession of arms. Withdrawal of police from VIP I am the target. IG want to expose me so I can be killed. Having survived Assassination attempt twice I deserve police protection … Continue reading Opinion: Why You Should Leave Dino Alone

By ibiene

Post Image

LIFESTYLE Opinion People Personal Development Research 6 more...

The Best Way to Use Social Media

April 19, 2022

There is no doubt that social media has changed the way we communicate, and the way we live. From business transactions to romantic connections and everything in between, social media defines this generation. Many of us can remember the early days of Yahoo Messenger. It was such a thrill to enter a chat room and start … Continue reading The Best Way to Use Social Media

By jehonwa

Post Image

E-Commerce Opinion

Things You Need To Know About Bitcoin in Nigeria

April 19, 2022

Everywhere you turn your head, there is an influx of information about bitcoins around us. Investors, entrepreneurs and stock traders, financial advisers, are daily flooding our heads, leaving us confused about its meaning. In simplest terms, Bitcoin is the oldest and most valued cryptocurrency, it is a digital currency that is not controlled by a central authority, for instance, banks … Continue reading Things You Need To Know About Bitcoin in Nigeria

By adepeju

Post Image

Opinion

The Best Five Cities to Start a Business in Nigeria

April 19, 2022

You’re ready to start that small business you’ve been dreaming about for a long time now, you have everything you need to kick off, except for the location. You figure that you can just screen a few candidates, pick one, settle into it, get to work, and make truckloads of money. It’s not that simple. … Continue reading The Best Five Cities to Start a Business in Nigeria

Post Image

Opinion

Top 5 Youth-Centric Churches in Nigeria

April 19, 2022

If you were ever looking for the youths on a Sunday morning, I can bet you they’ll be in one of these places. These top 5 churches have won the hearts of the Nigerian Youths. These churches speak the youth language,-motivational sermons, short services, great ambiance and a platform to be themselves.  The minute the … Continue reading Top 5 Youth-Centric Churches in Nigeria

Post Image

News Opinion

Nigeria Devises Finger-Printing Technique To Detect Crude Oil’s Theft

April 19, 2022

Stealing is, by all means, a crime and an impolite thing to do. It is worse when you decide to take natural resources that ought to provide for the whole nation. It is therefore remarkable that technology is now at hand to get rid of all criminals suspected of syphoning the nation’s crude oil. The … Continue reading Nigeria Devises Finger-Printing Technique To Detect Crude Oil’s Theft

By adepeju

Post Image

Opinion

Scrabble and Pidgin English

April 19, 2022

Scrabble is a decompression game invented in 1938 by American Architect Alfred Mosher, it’s a word game consisting of two to four players or two separate teams. However, the match-up score points are made by placing tiles bearing a single letter onto a board divided into a 15×15 grid of squares. The tiles must form words which, in crossword style, … Continue reading Scrabble and Pidgin English

By achem

Post Image

Opinion

The English Speaking Nigerians

April 19, 2022

English is our lingua franca in Nigeria. In short, currently, English is the official language in most African countries, which are the former colonies of Great Britain, of which Nigeria was a member. With our multiplicity of language and culture dynamics, English was adopted as our language of civilization and instruction. In schools, local languages are … Continue reading The English Speaking Nigerians

By adepeju

Post Image

Opinion

The Saga of Agabi and the Bomb Smelling Chips

April 19, 2022

I hate the idea of robots. Have you ever watched any of those futuristic movies where robots run the show or co-inhabit with humans? Aside from the fact that it’s creepy and makes you wish Jesus could come sooner before we actually get there, there’s one aspect of it I am not able to ignore–Robots … Continue reading The Saga of Agabi and the Bomb Smelling Chips

Post Image

Opinion

Nigerian’s Love For Music and Nation Building

April 19, 2022

That feeling you have when you find your feet tapping to that song beat you’ve argued that you couldn’t be bothered with. Whether we ignore or observe trends, we are going to be bothered by our airwaves’ playlist. You can educate your mind or your children not to listen to them, but you will have … Continue reading Nigerian’s Love For Music and Nation Building

By adepeju

Post Image

Opinion

Our Economy is Getting Better?

April 19, 2022

President Buhari, on Monday, after receiving a briefing at the Presidential Villa in Abuja from the Minister of Budget and National Planning, Senator Udoma Udo Udoma; the Minister for Finance, Mrs Kemi Adeosun and Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Mr Godwin Emefiele, declared that the Nigerian economy is getting better. I wonder what … Continue reading Our Economy is Getting Better?

Post Image

Opinion

Football Fanaticism: Madness or Love?

April 19, 2022

A new football season is underway, no doubt our streets would be full of youths scampering about from one game center to another. This is a norm for us in Nigeria; every year we see our youths ceaselessly bickering about which football team is better, which is going to win, which players have been great … Continue reading Football Fanaticism: Madness or Love?

By achem

Post Image

Opinion

Integrity is in Nigeria’s DNA

April 19, 2022

One beautiful thing about one’s character is that no matter how much you try to hide it, it has a way like a flame of showing its true self. A character can be a virtue or a vice. A child’s character is developed by nurture and by the structure. Nurture is the way a child … Continue reading Integrity is in Nigeria’s DNA

By adepeju

Post Image

News Opinion

Federal Government Makes Plans to Reform NIPOST (Nigerian Postal Services)

April 19, 2022

As the federal government works to reposition the nations’ postal and courier services system, it has created a sterling committee to lay the foundation for the change needed. The sterling committee is led by the permanent secretary in the Ministry of Communications, Mr Sonny Echono. The FG has also sent a bill to the National … Continue reading Federal Government Makes Plans to Reform NIPOST (Nigerian Postal Services)

By adepeju

Post Image

Opinion

This Is How To Know Love

April 19, 2022

Some have been broken trying to find love, but a lot have been more broken trying to sustain love. I’ve always been a person who is interested in love – the love I read in books, the love people talk about, the love I see in people’s eyes, the love I see in people’s actions, and the love I … Continue reading This Is How To Know Love

Post Image

Opinion

Who Celebrity Eep?

April 19, 2022

Ok, it is very stale news though, but there was a video of a Nigerian bride who went to her knees at the sight of Timi Dakolo going round on Social Media. Then fast-forward to the picture of Wizkid and Nicki Minaj trending on Twitter. Of course there were comments like, “who Wizkid, who Timi … Continue reading Who Celebrity Eep?

By adepeju

Post Image

Opinion

Nigerian Youth in the Age of Social Media.

April 19, 2022

There is no denying the fact that the social media space has revolutionised our daily existence and experience. The introduction of Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, Snapchat, Imo just to mention a few have continued to engage our everyday life. No doubt, the average youth’s access to the internet has proliferated the way we engage with … Continue reading Nigerian Youth in the Age of Social Media.

Post Image

Opinion

One Kobo Thought on #NotTooYoungToRun

April 19, 2022

It’s no longer news that the #NotYoungToRun bill and Independent Candidacy bill has been approved by the Senate of the Eighth National Assembly. What does this mean to the average youth on the street? Does this mean that miraculous fairies’ dust has been sprinkled for easy access? Everyone in the euphoria of the incident has … Continue reading One Kobo Thought on #NotTooYoungToRun

By adepeju

Post Image

Opinion

Away From Ethnicity –The Case of Biafra 3

April 19, 2022

My Dad used to laugh at ethnic sentiments.  For him, none of us did anything to belong to our ethnic extractions. We just arrived and through no fault or effort of our own, we BECAME IBOS’, YORUBA’S, HAUSA’S, IDOMA’S and whatever else!  Just by being born! If we all had a choice in the matter, … Continue reading Away From Ethnicity –The Case of Biafra 3

Post Image

Opinion

Rethinking Contentment

April 19, 2022

J.C Ryle once said, “Two things are said to be very rare sights in the world—one is a young man humble, and the other is an old man content”. Being filled with anxiety over one’s possession is the bane of contentment. A lot is told, about those who stress their hand to pluck a fruit … Continue reading Rethinking Contentment

By adepeju

Post Image

Opinion

The Oduduwa and Arewa Republic (s) – The Case of Biafra 2

April 19, 2022

The case for Oduduwa and Arewa Republic (s) is no better than Biafra’s case. The one advantage both have over Biafra is their possession of natural borders. However, nations are not built by border possession alone. It takes more – like who among the Ijebus, Egbas, Ekiti, Oyo, Ilorin… will lead?  Where will the capital … Continue reading The Oduduwa and Arewa Republic (s) – The Case of Biafra 2

Post Image

Opinion

Be Careful What You Wish For – The Case of Biafra 1

April 19, 2022

Today I take up a subject that many hate, and for those who might think this is inappropriate, I have a few words for you: “One of the penalties for refusing to participate in politics is that you end up being governed by your inferiors.” – Plato “Just because you do not take an interest in … Continue reading Be Careful What You Wish For – The Case of Biafra 1

Post Image

Opinion

World Peace: Achievable Today

April 19, 2022

For many of us, discussions on world peace is null and void as it does not seem to sync with our daily lives. As we go about our routines, we must “learn to live with each other as brothers or we all perish as fools”. It is not the absence of war that creates peace, … Continue reading World Peace: Achievable Today

By adepeju

Post Image