Post Image
Professor Nneka Okeke
Physics Professor, Francisca Nneka Okeke of University of Nigeria Nsukka, has been named – along with four others as recipients of the 15th Annual L’OREAL-UNESCO for Women-in-Science Award. She won “for her significant contributions to the understanding of daily variations of the ion currents in the upper atmosphere which may further our understanding of climate change.” Other winners are, Professor Pratibha Gai of the University of York (UK); Professor Reiko Kuroda, Tokyo University of Science (Japan); Professor Marcia Barbosa, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre (Brazil); Professor Deborah Jin, National Institute of Standards and Technology (USA); and University of Colorado, Boulder (USA). UNESCO Director-General, Irina Bokova praised them saying “These five outstanding women scientists have given the world a better understanding of how nature works. Their pioneering research and discoveries have changed the way we think in various areas of the physical sciences and opened new frontiers in science and technology. Such key developments have the potential to transform our society. Their work, their dedication, serves as an inspiration to us all.”

You might also like:
This article was first published on 31st October 2012

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *