Post Image
David ‘Davido’ Adeleke, has been named as one of the possible honorees for the much hankered after award, the Young Person of the Year at the 2018 edition of Africa’s biggest youth awards, The Future Awards Africa.


The list of nominees for the Young Person of the Year as released by The Future Awards Africa’s central working committee include:
  • Nemitari Ajienka (24) who completed has bachelors, masters and PhD and is now a lecturer at the Edge Hill University in the United Kingdom, all before he turned 24
  • Samson Itodo (32) who has changed the trajectory of Nigerian politics by pushing the ‘Not Too Young To Run’ Bill until its passage into law
  • Dr. Mahmoud Maina (32) whose groundbreaking research on degenerative disease has improved the understanding of these diseases and helped medical science with the much needed information to fight them
  • Tomi Adeyemi (25) celebrated author of the popular novel “Children of Blood and Bone” w
  • Davido (26), who insisted that the BET ‘Best African Act’ award winners be recognized on stage at the awards, and be given their plaques alongside their contemporaries from other parts of the world, instead of the unceremonious pre-event handing of the plaque  that had been the order of the day.
According to award’s official website:
“This prize is awarded to a young person who has become a force for change, capturing the collective imagination of all Nigerians through their achievements, public image, and personal triumphs. An individual who has demonstrated intuition, innovation, and initiative and is not afraid to lead change in his/her industry.”
The awards event is scheduled for the 16th of December 2018 celebrates innovative Nigerians while acknowledging inspiring youths between the ages of 18 and 31 (as at the year under review) who have distinguished themselves through creativity, social enterprise, and social good. The Future Awards has been referred to as the ‘Nobel Prize for Young Africans’ and is without doubt, the most important youth awards in the continent. It is made up of 20 award categories, and has so far produced over 150 winners since 2006.

Other nominees in the various categories are as follows:

The Future Awards Africa Prize for Acting Zainab Balogun (29) Maryam Booth (24) Bisola Aiyeola (32) Adesua Etomi (32) Alex Ekubo (32)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Advocacy Charles Odii (30) Hauwa Ojeifo (26) Samira Sanusi (30) Gospel Martins (30) Uche Kenneth (31)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Agriculture Abdulfatah Sadiq (31) Abubakar Sadiq Falalu (28) Jesse Osiobe (31) Oluwafemi Aliu (25) Ayodele Sipasi Olalekan (31)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Business Ladipo Lawani (30) Sunkanmi Ola (26) Chidi Ajaere (31) Ronke Bamisedun (31) Mohammed Jammal (31)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Comedy Samuel ‘Broda Shaggi’ Perry (25) Gloria ‘Maraji’ Oloruntobi (21) Mark Angel (27) Lasisi Elenu (27) Adeyela ‘Omo Ibadan’ Adebola (23)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Creativity Ken Nwadiogbu (24) Kingsley Ayogu (23) Ayobola Kekere-Ekun (25) Haneefa Adam (27) Uche Ugo (31)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Fashion Tosin ‘Style-Infidel’ Ogundadegbe (30) Ozinna Anumudu (26) Papa ‘Maxivive’ Oyeyemi (26) ‘Emmy Kasbit’ Emmanuel Okoro (28) Amy Akudo ‘Shekudo’ Iheakanwa (29)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Journalism Hannah Ojo (30) Linus Unah (26) Kemi Busari (29) Festus Iyorah (25) Taiwo Adebulu (29)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Music Damini ‘Burna Boy’ Ogulu (27) Simisola Bolatito Ogunleye (30) Niniola Apata (31) Folarin Falz Falana (28) Adekunle Gold (30) Adewale ‘Mayorkun’ Mayowa Emmanuel (24)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for New Media Nkechi (Ink) Eze (29) Hope Obeten (30) Fisayo Fosudo (23) John Obidi (32) Chidi Okereke (30)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for On-Air Personality (Radio) Awazi Angbalaga (24) Sophia Anidugbe (28) Cassandra George (24) Foluwake ‘Folu Storms’ Ogunkeye (31) Paul McPetros (24)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for On-Air Personality (TV) Tomike Alayande (23) Idia Aisien (27) Olive Emodi (29) Victor Mathias (31) Osasu Igbinedion (26)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Photography Tope ‘Horpload’ Adenola (29) Emmanuel Oyeleke (30) Damilola Onafuwa (27) Chidi ‘Lex Ash’ Ashimole (27) Fati Abubakar (32)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Technology John Oke (24) Adegoke Olubusi (25); Tito Ovia (25); and Dimeji Sofowora, (26) Odunayo Eweniyi (25), Joshua Chibueze (25), Somtochukwu Ifezue (27) Obi Omile Jr. (27) Uchechukwu Emmanuel (25), Esumeh Aaron (25), Godwin Nwangele (24), Udeh Isaac Nnaemeka (26), and Kingsley Okereke (28)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Sports Tobi Amusan (21) Evelyn Akator (23) Ahmed Musa (26) Thursdaline Peters (31) Ndidi Wilfred (21)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Screen Producer Nadine Ibrahim (24) Faraday Okoro (31) Michael Psalmist Akinrogunde (23) Adelapo ‘Lowladee’ Adeleke (28) Noni Salma (32)   The Future Awards Africa Prize & the University of Sussex for Education Lubem Mtile, (29) Wole Adedoyin (32) Brenda McWilson (25) Itodo Anthony (31) Gideon Olanrewaju (25)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Professional Service Uche Okafor (30) Chinwe Egwim (31) Catherine Kemi Onabanjo (31) Mavi Mudiaga-Erhueh (28) Temi Marcella Awogboro (31)   The Future Awards Africa Prize for Public Service Dami Ajayi (32) Ebenezer Wikina (26) Dr. Betta Edu (31) Rukayat Mope Azeez-Lawal (31) Daniel Philemon Saredau (30)   Sources: The Future Africa, PM News Nigeria   Featured Image Source: Guardian

You might also like:
This article was first published on 5th December 2018


Akwaowo Willie is a social media consultant for several businesses including SMEs and Startups. He is also an entrepreneur and writer with interests in entertainment, media, fashion, among others. He is married, with 2 adorable children.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *