Post Image
Love is a beautiful thing and everyone deserves to be loved. 14th of February every year is Valentine’s Day. It is a day set aside for lovers to express themselves and show unreserved affection.
Read more about Valentine’s Day
However, love doesn’t just last for a day. It should not be a one-day celebration. Thus, there are things we ought to know that can help us nurture our love life and take it beyond the annual February 14th celebration. I am talking about the five love languages. Understanding the five love languages is key to the growth and development of every relationship. It gives you a better understanding of whom you are involved with; what you should do, how to do it, and what to expect from your partner. Taking note of your partners love language goes a long way to fashion your relationship and prevents unnecessary misunderstanding and rancour. Below are the 5 love languages:

Words Of Affirmation

This is the verbal expression of affection towards the person you love. Words like ‘I Love You‘, ‘You Look So Lovely, Today’, ‘You Are So Beautiful’ and so on. To people that fall under this category, destructive criticism and insults can be pretty damaging. They ruminate a lot on words spoken to them, thus, they take whatever you say to heart.
Sign up to the Connect Nigeria daily newsletter

Acts Of Service

People under this category appreciate deeply both tangible and intangible acts of kindness. Stopping by at their place of work to see how work is going, making sure his tie is properly nut, giving her your coat when the weather is cold etc. These things go a long way to show them that they are special. Individuals in this category usually feel hurt when these gestures are lacking,

Physical Touch

Those in this category just want to be touched, whenever, however, and wherever. When walking down an avenue, they want hands locked together, they want you to touch their hair, to hug them and so on. This is the primary way to show them that they are special and wanted.


Not everyone wants a gift as the primary way of showing that you care about them. However, people in this category would wear a long face if gifts are not presented to them. It is worthy to note that they do not want gifts occasionally, but customarily. Gold necklace on their birthday, a beautiful designer wristwatch for him, PlayStation for the gamers, buying her flowers etc.

Quality Time

They want to spend virtually every moment with you. Movie nights, game nights, date nights, cuddling together in bed, talking about the day’s hassle, and so on. They just want to make sure that you are around them. Most times, they get so insecure and dejected when you do not give them quality time. Finally, these should promote a healthy love life. One must endeavour to understand these things in order to navigate the hurdles of relationships. When these love languages are identified, both parties can discuss how to reach a compromise so that no party is left cheated. Note that a person can have all these love languages, however, they come in levels; from the predominant to the subsidiary. So, take particular interest in your partner’s love language. Featured Image Source: Unsplash
Got a suggestion? Contact us:

You might also like:
This article was first published on 13th February 2021


I am a poet. I am a moderate thinker who abhors radicalism on every front and believes that most things are relative. I am a social and political critic. I love writing, reading and international politics.

Comments (1)

One thought on “Understanding The Five Love Languages”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *