Post Image
Home-based Super Eagles of Nigeria have been given a tough battle against the Stallions of Burkina Faso in the qualifiers for next year’s African Nations Cham­pionship to be hosted by Rwanda. The draw, held last night in Cairo, Egypt by the Confederation of African Football (CAF), pitted Nigeria against Burkina Faso in a tough double cracker to be played in October with Nigeria given the honours of playing the first leg at home. Both teams are in Zone B, which also consists of Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire, Ni­ger Republic and Togo. Three teams are expected to qualify from the zone. The Northern Zone has four teams from which two teams will qualify; Zone A has eight teams from which two teams will qualify; Central Zone has six teams from which three teams will qualify; Central East will produce only two teams aside host nation Rwanda and South­ern Zone will produce three teams from 12 nations. Super Eagles finished with a bronze medal during the last edition of the competition in South Africa last year.

You might also like:
This article was first published on 6th April 2015

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *