Post Image
The City of Lagos, called Eko by the Yorubas, is one also one of the 36 states of Nigeria. The city used to be the capital of Nigeria before it was moved to Abuja. Along with being the most populous city in Nigeria, it doubles as the most populous in Africa, outranking Cairo in 2012. The current population of Lagos State is approximately 21 million.


Lagos originated on the island, including Lagos Island, and was protected by the Atlantic Ocean. However, the city has expanded to include the mainland west of the lagoon, Ikeja, the capital of the state, Agege, and the coastal shores of Badagry. Originally inhabited by the Aworis, the state is now occupied by various ethnic groups. As a matter of fact, there are more than 250 Nigerian ethnic groups represented in the city of Lagos. Americans, Japanese, East Indians, Lebanese, British and the Chinese are present in the state in small minorities.

Population, Economy and Educational Institutions

The state’s population which was initially estimated at 1.4 million in 1970, has now grown to 21 million. Besides its large population, Lagos State has a thriving economy, being a major financial centre, and would the fifth largest economy in Africa, if it were to be a country. Ranking number one in Nigeria, her GDP is worth US$33,679 while Rivers, Delta and Oyo States come second, third and fourth respectively. There are 20 local government areas in Lagos State. These are: Agege, Ajeromi-Ifelodun, Alimosho, Amuwo-Odofin, Apapa, Badagry, Epe, Eti-Osa, Ibeju-Lekki, Ifako-Ijaiye, Ikeja, Ikorodu, Kosofe, Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, Mushin, Ojo, Oshodi-Isolo, Shomolu, and Surulere. In the city of Lagos, there are eighteen tertiary institutions, five of them being federal institutions, eight are Lagos state-owned institutions while the remaining five are private owned. Among these institutions are the University of Lagos, Lagos State polytechnic, Lagos State University, Yaba College of Technology, Federal College of Education (Technology), Wolx Polytechnic, Michael Otedola College of education, National Open University of Nigeria (Lagos study centres), and Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education, amongst others.   Reference:

You might also like:
This article was first published on 25th April 2018

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *