Post Image

According to a statement by the Confederation of African Football (CAF), all 24 countries expected to participate in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt will receive at least $600,000 each.

The winner of the continental showcase will receive $4.5 million (equivalent of 4 million euros or N1.6 billion) in addition to the trophy they will raise after the final on July 19th.

Speaking on the increase of the renumeration for African teams who made it to the AFCON final, CAF President, Ahmad Ahmad, said the federation had every reason to increase the prize money:


After the 2017 AFCON, defending champions, Cameroon, received $4 million for winning the 2017 title, while Egypt received $2 million.

The two semifinalists, Burkina Faso and Ghana, received $1.5 million each.

For the 2019 AFCON, Nigeria has been grouped alongside Guinea, Madagascar and Burundi in Group B.

The Super Eagles will begin their 2019 AFCON campaign against Burundi on June 22nd, at the Alexandria Stadium, before they take on Guinea, three days later at the same venue.

On June 30th, the Eagles are expected to play their final group game against Madagascar at the Alexandria Stadium.

The top two teams from each group and four third-place teams will advance to the knockout stage.

Featured image source:Daily Post Nigeria

You might also like:
This article was first published on 16th April 2019


Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *