Post Image

Entries are now open for the 2017 Commonwealth Short Story Prize. The prize is awarded primarily to writers from the British Commonwealth for short stories written in English or English translations of stories originally written in another language. New writers with few or no published works can enter the competition, as it is aimed at giving little-known but exceptionally talented writers the opportunity to get recognised for their works on the international stage.

Entries will be received from across the world and judged by a panel consisting of one representative from each of these five regions: Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean and the Pacific. Regional winners will receive £2,500 each, and the overall winner will get £5,000.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is open to entries from writers aged 18 years and above. No entry fees are required. Short stories to be submitted should be written in English and should contain between 2,000 and 5,000 words. Entries can be submitted via the Commonwealth website.

The closing date for entries into the short story competition is November 1, 2016.

You might also like:
This article was first published on 5th September 2016


Ikenna Nwachukwu holds a bachelor's degree in Economics from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. He loves to look at the world through multiple lenses- economic, political, religious and philosophical- and to write about what he observes in a witty, yet reflective style.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *