Post Image
  After thirteen years of winning the Women’s Prize For Fiction (then known as the Orange Prize For Literature), foremost Nigerian writer, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, has won the Prize’s Winner of Winners award. The award set out to celebrate the prize’s 25 years history saw Chimamanda emerge from the list of the 25 previous winners with her book ‘’Half of a Yellow Sun.’’
Read more about Literature
The winner of this award was selected from a public vote which had over 8,500 readers select the best of all the 25 books that have won the award in the past. Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun was set before the Nigeria-Biafran war of 1967-1970. It explores themes relating to race, class, identity, and gender. The book would go on to be adapted into a movie in 2013 which starred Chiwetel Ejiofor and Thandie Newton. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie has been consistent as one of the most prominent writers globally. Her debut novel ‘’Purple Hibiscus,’’ won the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. Her 2013 piece ‘’Americanah,’’ also grabbed the National Book Critics Circle Award among other prizes she has won. Reacting to the Winner of Winners Prize, Chimamanda stated that she was moved and recalled that the Women’s Prize For Fiction which she won in 2007 boosted her readership.
‘I’m especially moved to be voted ‘Winner of Winners’ because this is the prize that first brought a wide readership to my work — and has also introduced me to the work of many talented writers.’ Chimamanda

Sign up to the Connect Nigeria daily newsletter
Furthermore, the founder of the award in 1995, Kate Moss, expressed her delight at the Nigerian emerging winner, stating that the award is proof that “great books live beyond their time”.
‘One of the things that’s so fantastic about Chimamanda being the winner of winners is that a lot of younger readers are now coming to that novel, who probably didn’t read it when it came out. It’s felt like a really celebratory thing to be doing over this very strange year.’ Kate Moss
The Women’s Prize For Fiction is a UK award which was founded in 1995 by Kate Moss after no book written by a woman was considered for the 1991 Booker by judges. It is meant to encourage and empower female writers across the globe. Sources: The Guardian Lions Crib Featured Image Source: Kanyi Daily
Got a suggestion? Contact us: editor at connectnigeria dot com

You might also like:
This article was first published on 16th November 2020


I am a Lion, I love to hit heights that seem impossible so I can motivate others and prove doubters wrong. For me, impossible is nothing. I'm open to learning and I love to read, travel and meet new faces.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *