Post Image

The Confederation for Africa Football has, in a statement, revealed the price money earned by each countries that participated in the just concluded 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

AFCON Champions, Algeria, have received $4.5m, while second placed Senegal was awarded the sum of $2.5m.

Nigeria and Tunisia both received $2m for making it to the third place match.

Algeria vs Senegal

For the first time in 20 years and the second time in their history, Algeria are the champions of Africa.

An early minute by Baghdad Bounedjah, which was deflected off Salif Sane and looped over goalkeeper Alfred Gomes, was all the Algerians needed to claim the well sought continental crown.

Senegal had a stroke of luck in the second half when they were awarded a penalty for handball, but it was overturned after a VAR review.

Algeria held on to the lead, holding back the Senegalese team from scoring any goals as the game quickly progressed into the final minutes.

Liverpool forward, Sadio Mane, who had before said that he would swap his Champions League winners medal for Africa Cup of Nations success, could barely do anything for his side as Algeria picked up a well deserved win at the Cairo International Stadium.

Prize Money Distribution

Third place in group stage: $620.000 (Angola and Kenya)

Round of 16 : $670.000  (Benin, Uganda, Egypt, Mali, Guinea, DR Congo, Cameroon and Ghana)

Quarter-finals: $800.000 (Madagascar, Ivory Coast, South Africa and Benin)

Semi-finalists: $2 million (Nigeria and Tunisia)

Second Place : $2.5 million (Senegal)

Champions : $4.5 million (Algeria)

Source: Vanguard

You might also like:
This article was first published on 22nd July 2019


Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *