Post Image

The Confederation of Africa Football (CAF), has reviled plans to expand the African Women’s Cup of Nations to a 12-team competition from 2020.

CAF President, Ahmad Ahmad, said the decision to extend the tournament was reached at the body’s executive committee meeting on Wednesday in Cairo, Egypt.

This means the continental tournament will now have a quarter-final round before the semi-final.

Ahmad also announced that the CAF Champions League final and the CAF Confederations Cup would have one-match finals played on neutral grounds.

We took a great decision today (Wednesday). Women’s AFCON will now engage 12 teams. They only were eight until now.

Huge decision that CAF took today (Wednesday): the (finals) will be now played on a single game.”

Ahmad Ahmad

There are indications that FIFA president, Gianni Infantino, attended the CAF congress scheduled which held in Cairo on Thursday, July 18.

Among the pressing issues to be discussed is the progress of African football and the corruption allegations levelled against the CAF president. Recall that Ahmad was detained and questioned by French Authorities in June.

All CAF’s 54-member associations will meet to deliberate on how to deal with these issues alongside the proposed takeover of the federation by FIFA.

Featured Image Source: Futaa

You might also like:
This article was first published on 19th July 2019


Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Comments (1)

One thought on “CAF Extends AWCON To 12 Teams”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *