Post Image
Super Falcons head coach, Thomas Dennerby, has invited 48 players to represent Nigeria at the oncoming 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCN) in Accra, Ghana.


The tournament tagged, Ghana 2018, is scheduled to kick off on Saturday, 17th November 2018, and run till Saturday, 1st December 2018. Ghana 2018 will be the 11th edition of the AWCN (excluding tournaments without hosts). The biennial international football championship is organized by the Confederation of Africa Football (CAF), under the sponsorship of  TOTAL, for the women national teams in Africa. This year’s edition will see eight African nations including – Ghana (host), Algeria, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Mali, South Africa, Zambia and Nigeria – battle for continental dominance in women’s football. So far, Nigeria’s prime ladies, the Super Falcon, have held onto the crown more times than any other African team — ten (10) times, including the last two edition of the games in 2014 and 2016.

The Team

The team consists of 29 home-based and 19 international players, who are expected to arrive camp at Jubilee Chalets, Epe, Lagos, from October 18.


Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels) Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens) Alaba Jonathan (Bayelsa Queens) Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels) Onyinyechukwu Okeke (Edo Queens) Defenders Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels) Joy Jegede (Bayelsa Queens) Ugochi Emenayo (Nasarawa Amazons) Maureen Okpala (Confluence Queens) Mariam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons) Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons) Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC, Cyprus) Joy Duru (Nasarawa Amazons) Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden) Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China) Juliet Lorliam (Nasarawa Amazons) Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden) Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF, Sweden) Midfielders Osarenoma Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens) Christy Ucheibe (Nasarawa Amazons) Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons) Ogechi Ukwuoma (Pelican Stars) Peace Efih (Edo Queens) Bashirat Amoo (Confluence Queens) Goodness Onyebuchi (Sunshine Queens) Nneka Julius (Edo Queens) Patience Agbokade (Sunshine Queens) Mary Anjor (Osun Babes) Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna UTD, Sweden) Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden) Christy Adule (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan) Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden) Ogonna Chukwudi (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden) Forwards Chidinma Okeke (FC Robo Queens) Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons) Alice Ogebe (Rivers Angels) Joy Jerry (Bayelsa Queens) Chioma Wogu (Rivers Angels) Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens) Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China) Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA) Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France) Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal) Ebere Orji (Mallbackens Lysvik, Sweden) Esther Sunday (Konak Belediyespor) Uchechi Sunday; Courtney Dike (Oklahoma City, USA) Chinwendu Ihezuo (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan)

You might also like:
This article was first published on 18th October 2018


Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *