Post Image
  The 2024 Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) recently took place, sparking discussions and reactions, particularly regarding Funke Akindele’s film A Tribe Called Judah. Despite receiving eight nominations, the film surprisingly did not secure any wins, leaving many fans and observers disappointed.
Read more about Entertainment
In contrast, Femi Adebayo’s “Jagun Jagun” was among the winners, celebrating notable achievements in African cinema. Additionally, Isaac Ayomide Olayiwola, popularly known as Layi Wasabi, clinched his first AMVCA for his work “Medical Negligence and Copyright Infringement” under the Best Digital Content category, marking a significant milestone in his career.
Layi Wasabi
Breathe of Life” was one of the big winners at the AMVCA, picking up several major awards, including Best Lead Actor for Wale Ojo and Best Cinematography. This shows that the film was well-made, both in telling a powerful story and in its visual quality. It stood out at the awards and showed the high quality of filmmaking in Africa.
Sign up for the Connect Nigeria daily newsletter
The event showcased a broad spectrum of talents across various categories, underscoring the vibrant diversity and creativity within the African film industry. Here’s the full list of winners:
  • Best Writing Award: Volume
  • Best writing movie: Fumilayo Ransome Kuti – Tunde Babalola
  • Best Sound Design: Grey Jones Ossai x2 (Breathe of Life and Blood Vessel)
  • Best Editing: Antonio Ribeiro
  • Best Indigenous West Africa. Femi Adebayo Jagun Jagun
  • Best Digital Content: Layi Wasabi
  • Best Short Film: Broken Mask
  • Best Unscripted M-Net Original: Nwuyee Bekee (Foreign Wives)
  • Best Scripted: Slum King
  • Best Makeup: Mami Wata (Campbell Precious Arebamen)
  • Best Art Direction: Over the bridge
  • Best Costume Design: Jagun Jagun (Lola Awe)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Genoveva Umeh (Breath of Life
Igbo History and Facts – X
  • Best Supporting Actor: Ademola Adedoyin (Breath of Life)
  • Best Cinematography: Over the bridge

Register to attend the CN Business Mixer
  • Best Indigenous MNet Original: Irora Iya
  • Trailblazer Award: Chimezie Imo
Nollywmag – Instagram
  • Industry Merit Awards: Iya Rainbow aka Idowu Philips and Richard Mofe Damijo
  • Best Lead Actress: Kehinde Bankole (Adire)
  • Best Lead Actor: Wale Ojo (Breath of Life)
  • Best MultiChoice Talent Factory Movie: Our Dark Past
  • Best Series (Unscripted): Gh Queens (s2)
  • Best Series Scripted: Itura
  • Best Director: BB Sasore (Breath of Life)
  • Best Movie: Breath of Life
Breath of Life

Got a suggestion? Contact us:

You might also like:
This article was first published on 13th May 2024

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *