Post Image
The Super Falcons of Nigeria have emerged the Best National Women Team of the Year, at the 2018 Aiteo-CAF Awards in Dakar, Senegal, on Tuesday night. The nine-time African champions were the favorites to claim the award, following their continued dominance of women’s football in the continent. In the male category, Mauritania who only made their debut appearance at the African Cup of Nations, in 2018, were voted the Best National Team of the Year. Liverpool and Egyptian forward, Mohammed Salah, was voted the African Player of the Year, for the second time in a row. In the women’s category, Thembi Kgatlana, emerged the African Women’s Player of the Year, ahead of Super Falcons Asisat Oshoala and Francesca Ordega. Oshoala was looking forward to clinching her fourth title, after winning the coveted women’s crown in 2014, 2016, and 2017. However, the Nigerian did not garner enough votes to retain the crown. Borussia Dortmund and Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi edged Nigeria’s Wilfred Ndidi to the Young Player of the Year Award. South Africa’s Desiree Ellis, won the award for the African Women’s Coach of the Year, ahead of Super Falcons Coach Thomas Dennerby. In the men’s category, it was Morocco’s Herve Renard, who took home the award. It was quite alarming that no Nigerian player was able to make the cut for the continent’s Best XI of 2018.
Federation President of the Year
Fouzi Lekjaa (President of the Federation Royale Marocaine de Football)
Goal of the Year
Thembi Kgatlana   Featured image source:

You might also like:
This article was first published on 9th January 2019


Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *