Post Image
Technical adviser for the Super Eagles, Gernot Rohr, has named skipper, Mikel Obi, Victor Moses, Wilfred Ndidi, Alex Iwobi, and other top-seeded players in Nigeria’s 30-man provisional list for the Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup finals scheduled to kick off on June 14. The list also includes home-based players whose performance have surely not gone unnoticed in the past months. Kano Pillars top-gun, and current highest goal scorer in the NPFL with 18 goals, Junior Lokossa, made it to the list as some foreign based players were cut off due to bad form or injury. Another very striking, but predicted, addition to the list is F.C. Crotone striker, Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo also known as Simy. He has been doing great for his Serie A side, despite the club’s bad fortune, Simy is on his 7th goal for the team who are currently fighting to avoid relegation on 35 points from 37 games and in 18th position 18th position in the Serie A table. According to the NFF all invited players have been told to report at the Le Meridien Hotel and Golf Resort, Uyo on Monday, 21st May. Uyo, as playing the home front, was a major boost for the Super Eagles  on several occasions during the qualifying rounds.


Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United)


Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag, The Netherlands); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England); Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium); Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria)


Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (UD Las Palmas, Spain); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Joel Obi (Torino FC, Italy); Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)


Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Nwankwo Simeon (Crotone FC, Italy); Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars)

You might also like:
This article was first published on 15th May 2018


Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *