Post Image
  Applications are currently being accepted for the 2025 Royal Academy of Engineering Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation. This prestigious award seeks to recognize engineers and entrepreneurs who have developed or are developing groundbreaking technological innovations. The aim is to encourage these innovators to take a leading role in establishing new businesses to bring their innovations to market.
Read more about Opportunities
The innovations submitted must be designed to address specific challenges or development needs in one or more countries in sub-Saharan Africa. The Engineering Africa Prize covers a wide range of engineering fields including agricultural technology, biotechnology, chemical engineering, civil engineering, computer science, design engineering, electrical and electronic engineering, materials science, mechanical engineering, and medical engineering.
Sign up for the Connect Nigeria daily newsletter


Benefits for participants include:
  • Access to business and technical expertise
  • Specialized engineering mentoring
  • Tailored training over eight months
  • Bespoke press coverage and communications support
  • Networking opportunities with prominent engineers and business experts from both the UK and Africa.
  • Finalists also have the chance to present their innovations to a judging panel at the Africa Prize showcase event
  • The Prize offers a financial reward of up to £25,000 and aims to support innovations that promote the welfare and economic development of sub-Saharan African countries.

Register to attend the CN Business Mixer

Eligibility Criteria

  • The lead applicant must be at least 18 years old by the application deadline of July 25, 2023, with no upper age limit.
  • Previous shortlist members or winners, as well as anyone involved in their teams or innovations, are ineligible to participate.
  • Applications can be submitted by individuals or teams, with the lead applicant being a citizen of a country in sub-Saharan Africa and ordinarily based there
  • Innovations must also be based in a sub-Saharan African country.
Applications for the 2025 Prize will be accepted until October 15, 2024. Interested individuals or teams can apply HERE.
Got a suggestion? Contact us:

You might also like:
This article was first published on 28th June 2024


Ikenna Nwachukwu holds a bachelor's degree in Economics from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. He loves to look at the world through multiple lenses- economic, political, religious and philosophical- and to write about what he observes in a witty, yet reflective style.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *