Post Image


Kano Pillars have been crowned the Champions of Nigerian Premier League despite going down 2 – 0 against Lobi Stars on the final day of the season. This is Kano Pillars’ second title in two years and third in recent years, becoming the first team from the North to win the league back to back. Prize money of N10,000,000 was doled out to the winners of the league. The team from Kano finished on 63 points, just a point more than Enyimba who finished on 62 points after defeating Sharks 1 – 0 on the final day of the season. Both teams will fly the country’s flag at the continental stage in the CAF Champions League next year. Wikki Tourist, Kwara United, Shooting Stars and ABS FC all faced the blues as they were demoted to the lower leagues.

You might also like:
This article was first published on 21st October 2013


Arinze Ude is a PhD Student at the University of the West of England Bristol, UK, where he's exploring on the mechanisms of donor cell leukaemia. He shares his deep thoughts on his blog and the Naked Convos. He is keen to promote personal development of the Nigerian youth via thought-provoking articles.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *