Post Image

Kaduna State is a state in central northern Nigeria. It is both popular and populous; it is also a representative of a montage and a collage; multi-religious, multiethnic etc. kaduna state puts not only the Northern Nigeria on the Map; but Nigeria at large. It has been an academic and intellectual hub for Nigeria; not surprising given that, it is a notable educational center of the country with so many notable institutions of higher learning. Some of these institutions include; the Nigerian Defence Academy, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Nuhu Bamalli Polytechnic, Zaria, Kaduna State University, Federal Polytechnic, Kaduna, Nigerian College of Aviation Technology, Zaria, College of Nursing-Kafanchan, Institute of Leather Research-Zaria, National Open University of Nigeria, National Water Resources Institute, Kaduna, Nigerian Institute of transport technology, Zaria, School of Midwifery Kaduna etc. Kaduna is also the haven for many of Nigeria’s Reearch institutes; some of these include the National Agricultural Extension Research and Liason Services (NAERLS), Institute for Agricultural Research (IAR), National Animal Production Research Insttitute (NAPRI) amongst so many. The above squashes any apprehensions and doubts about the significance of this state called ‘Kaduna’ to Nigeria and the World.

Kaduna! A Name, A Vibe, An Attitude

As popular as the name is, many are not aware, how the name ‘Kaduna’ came to being.
The name Kaduna is gotten from the Hausa word “Kada” which means ‘crocodile’. Kaduna is the plural of Kada and this simply means ‘crocodiles’. The state therefore, is named after the famous Kaduna river, popularly called, River Kaduna, which has an abundance of crocodiles and different types of fishes.

This informs why the state is referred to as ‘Croc-City’, ‘Kada’, ‘KD’ etc.

Kaduna: The Heart of the Northern Region

Not so much of an outrageous claim but rather, a claim that falls a little short of what Kaduna is. But for modesty sake, it can be said in laymen’s terms that Kaduna is the Heart of Northern Nigeria. This cannot be said in hush tones because the state Kaduna, was the successor to the old Northern Region of Nigeria, which had its capital at the city of Kaduna. In 1967 however, this was split up into six states, one of which was the North-Central State, whose name was changed to Kaduna State in 1976. This was further divided in 1987, losing the area now part of Katsina State

Kaduna as a state has 23 local government areas namely; Birni-Gwari, Chikun, Giwa, Igabi, Ikara, jaba, Jema’a, Kachia, Kaduna North, Kaduna South, Kagarko, Kajuru, Kaura, Kauru, Kubau, Kudan, Lere, Makarfi, Sabon-Gari, Sanga, Soba, Zango-Kataf, Zaria. Each of these Local Government areas house specific or multiplicities of tribes; tribes of rich cultural heritage, indigenous wealth and ingenuity.

Some of the notable festivals observed by these tribes include the following: the Afan Festival- observed by the Oegworok, the Atyap Cultural Festival- observed by the Atyaps, the Moro’a Festivals observed by the Asholios, the Ninzo festival observed by the Ninzomz, the Dung day festival observed by the Nikyob’s, the Tuk Ham festival observed by the Ham, the Gwong day festival observed by the Gwongs, the Durbar festival observed by the Hausa. Etc.

So it is Kaduna! Also referred to as K.D; popularly referred to as Kada city and rightly referred to as  Croc-city.



Nigeria Galleria

Featured image source: The Guardian Nigeria

You might also like:
This article was first published on 13th April 2019


Jeremiah is a scholar and a poet. He has a keen eye for studying the world and is passionate about people. He tweets at @jeremiahaluwong.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *