Post Image

The 2018/2019 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) season officially kicked off on Sunday, with four wins and two draws recorded.

Seven-time NPFL champion, Enyimba FC, began their campaign with an assertive win over rivals MFM United, at the Enyimba International Stadium, Aba.

Goals from Nelson Ogbonnaya and Abdulrahman Bashir, in the 13th and 54th minutes respectively, handed Enyimba the well fought victory.

Kano Pillars handed Heartland FC of Owerri, their first defeat of the season. Pillar’s Chinese Sunday scored the only goal of the encounter.

In Jos, Plateau United could not use the home advantage against the vibrant FC Ifeanyi Ubah players, who held them to a goalless draw.

Nasarawa United snatched up all 3 points in their game against Abia Warriors in Lafia. Abdullahi Abubakar cooly slotted in Abdul Makama’s cross in the 20th minute, handing his side the win.

At the Ilorin Township Stadium, Kwara United was held to a 1-1 stalemate by Sunshine Stars.

Sunshine Stars took the lead four minutes into the game, thanks to Sasere Franklin’s goal. With only 20 minutes left on the clock, Kwara United hit an equalizer. However, it was Sunshine Stars’ Seun Olulayo, who parried Usman Mohammed’s cross into his own net.

At the Akwa Ibom International Stadium, Akwa United got off to a very bad start, with a 1-0 home loss to El Kanemi Warriors.

Source: Punch

Featured image source:

You might also like:
This article was first published on 14th January 2019


Achem Samuel is a writer and a musician, he is passionate about God and also an ardent fan of tech, sports and music.

Comments (1)

One thought on “2018/2019 NPFL: Enyimba, Pillars Record Win on Day 1”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *